Insider Newsletter

FEBRUARY 2022

E X E C U T I V E B O A R D

President Glenn Acosta

Vice President Mo Bina

Secretary
Mischelle Mikulas

Treasurer Margott Hinostroza

White Collar Lonice Thomas

Tech Support
Jose Mendoza

Supervisory Steve Sealy

Professional

Dave Walbeck

Professional Supervisory
Darrell Hatch

Energy Recovery
David Devase

At Large

Basil Hewitt Becky Urac Dwain Tucker

AFSCME Representative Luis Schmidt

PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

2022 brings us an opportunity to improve our compensation, benefits, and work environment. Labor negotiations between management and the professional, supervisory, and professional supervisory bargaining units are underway. These contracts expire this year.

On January 26, on behalf of our union, I presented an overview of our key requests to the Personnel Committee:

- Have our cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) match the consumer price index (CPI) rather than use a formula. The Los Angeles area CPI is nearly 7% and the current formula does not keep up with inflation.
- A 5.5% salary increase for all job classifications in the bargaining units effective July 1, 2022. Our salaries are not competitive when compared to comparable agencies with operating facilities.
- Model our interview process for promotions after cities, where the scoring is not entirely based on the interview and outside panelists are part of the interview process. The intent is to create a fair, merit-based promotion system free of favoritism.
- Make diversion, equity, and inclusion (DEI) a permanent part of our work culture by creating a DEI oversight position that reports to the Board.

We are also trying to improve the PEPRA employees' salaries such that their effective pay is equal to Classic employees. We have many other requests, such as increasing dental coverage and adding more personal leave.

I plan to have a town hall meeting on February 15 at 12 pm to bring our members up to speed and solicit input. A Zoom invite will be emailed.

Finally, a thank you to Earle Hartling for leading us to this point as our past president.

Respectfully,

Glenn Acosta