

AFSCME Local 18 Executive Board Meeting – February 1, 2024 @ 12-1 pm

1. Swearing in of new board members

Patricia Hsia (Vice President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Stephen Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director) and Greg Hope (Secretary) sworn in.

2. Roll Call

Glenn Acosta (President), Patricia Hsia (Vice President), Greg Hope (Secretary), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Steven Sealy (Supervisory Unit Director), Artin Laleian (Professional Unit Director), Dave DeVase (Energy Recovery), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support Unit Director), Cristina Rocha (White Collar Unit Director), Dwain Tucker (Director at Large), Quorum established. <u>AFSCME Representative Present</u>: Luis Schmidt <u>Present During</u> <u>the Meeting but not Present During Roll Call</u>: N/A.

- Approve minutes for Jan 4th meeting Motion to approve the minutes made by Dwain and seconded by Patricia. Motion passed unanimously.
- Approve Treasurer's Report for Dec 2023
 Motion to approve the report made by Steven and seconded by Dwain. Motion passed unanimously. Wendy and Patricia to be new signatories for checks.
- 5. Approve \$440 payment to Rothner, Segall & Greenstone

Motion to approve the invoice made by Patricia and seconded by Stephen. Motion passed unanimously

- 6. Recap of Jan 24th Personnel Committee Meeting from Glenn Acosta No action taken.
 - a. Proposed conversion of hourly employees to monthly
 - b. Proposed changes to 50% sick leave policy
 - c. HR will perform cost analysis prior to response from Committee
 - d. Brief discussion of SDI as possible benefit. Special meeting to be scheduled for indepth discussion.
- 7. Report from AFSCME Representative No action taken.

2024 BOARD MEMBERS		
Officers:	Glenn Acosta (President), Patricia Hsia (Vice President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)	
Unit Directors:	Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (Professional Supervisory), David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)	
At-Large Directors:	Dwain Tucker, Rebecca Urac, Darrell Hatch	

- a. Luis will provide list of all employees indicating union membership status.
- 8. Reports from Ad Hoc Committees
 - a. Jose Mendoza, Chair of Constitution Committee No report.
 - b. Becky Urac, Chair of Improvements Committee No report.
 - c. Dwain Tucker, Chair of HR Audit Committee HR has not provided promised consultant report. Proposed changes to interview/promotion process will need to be ratified by members of the affected units.
 - d. Steve Sealy, Chair of Salary Survey Committee HR has not provided promised consultant report.
- 9. Next meetings
 - a. March 7
 - b. April 4

2024 BOARD MEMBERS	
Officers:	Glenn Acosta (President), Patricia Hsia (Vice President), Wendy Yanez (Treasurer), Greg Hope (Secretary)
Unit Directors:	Stephen Sealy (Supervisory), Artin Laleian (Professional), Ted Brodeur (ProfessionalSupervisory), David DeVase (Energy Recovery), Cristina Rocha (White Collar), Jose Mendoza (Technical Support)